I didn’t think I would. Hell, I didn’t think I COULD. After all, I am from Houma. We were spared by Katrina and Rita. We were a safe haven for the many displaced by Hurricane Katrina. I sat in the Houma Civic Center listening to the people there who went through much more than I did.

Yes, I was there for every game in Louisiana in 2005. I was in New Orleans for the preseason game vs the Ravens just days before the storm. I was in Baton Rouge when the Ha(z)pless Saints got beat every single time. But, I was also there in 2006 for quite a few games, thanks to SaintATN, of course. I got to watch the Saints live in their revival.

But then I abandoned the Saints in 2007, hoping to better my life. I moved to Korea. I made my life better through sheer will. Honestly, speaking through sports, Korea has been REALLY GOOD TO ME. In the 2007 football season, LSU won the national championship. In the 2009 baseball season, LSU did the same. Now, the be all of all, the ultimate final factor in my sports universe, the NEW ORLEANS SAINTS WON THE SUPER BOWL!!!!!!

I watched the game at a local bar. I was the only “local” there, despite the bar being basically split 50-50. Throughout the game, I hooped and hollered and cursed. I can also honestly say that the whole game I yelled when the Saints were on defense, “Peyton, throw it to Tracy Porter.” When Peyton did, everyone looked at me. The Saints went up 14 then and the game was virtually sealed, except that the ball was back in Peyton’s hands.

But then the 4th down play at the goal line happened, and the Saints repossessed the ball. Drew went into victory formation and the reality was starting to hit me, my hands clasped behind my head. The clock hit zero and I was still, the guy who yelled his voice out throughout the game. I was not moving, couldn’t even breathe.

I heard someone behind me–I’m assuming the bar owner Aaron LaForest–say, “Someone needs to hug [Lee].” Someone grabbed me from behind, and then the tears started flowing freely. Ne (Korean for “yes”), I started weeping uncontrollably. People hugged me and high-fived me and bought me shots. But I could see in everyone’s eyes that they could never experience a Super Bowl win as I did. Here I am on the other side of the world, and though I am happy here, the first thing I could think of was that I missed home so much and missed that I couldn’t be there with the people I loved back home and hated that I left because of Hurricane Katrina in the first place.

I wept. No, not Biblically speaking, but as a true Who Dat. I will weep for days to come every time someone brings up the Super Bowl. This was my end. For the rest of my life I don’t need sports because the Saints have finally done it. If anyone ever asks me in my life if sports really matter, I will say, “They matter more than the oxygen in the air because sports give the down and out hope.” The Saints actually exceeded that today. They gave everlasting life.